Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am obsessed with cowls at the moment. They are the perfect winter accessory. They are big and warm and, unlike scarves, don’t get tangled up.

I found this very simple, yet effective, cowl pattern on Deer Little Fawn, a super cute website that is definitely worth checking out. The cowl is worked in the round with a treble stitch (that’s UK treble, US double). Beth’s pattern calls for a super chunky wool- Cygnet Seriously Chunky Yarns 300g- and 8mm hook. I, however, couldn’t find an exactly equivalent yarn so I used Cascade Superwash Chunky Yarn (which you can buy from my favourite suppliers here) and a 6mm hook, which worked just as well. If, like me, you use a smaller hook and yarn remember to add a couple more stitches to the foundation chain.

These cowls were so easy to make and took only a couple of hours each. The first one I made, I accidentally twisted the foundation chain when I was working into the second row, but the result was so effective that I decided not to go back and fix my mistake. After I had made the first cowl, my sister liked it so much she asked for one too. Hers I did properly, but about six rows from the end I turned the cowl so I was working right side up to create a variation in the stitches (which you can kind of see in the picture below).

IMG_0289

 

I am currently working on a third cowl, this time one which has a fan/scollop pattern. Stay tuned for more details!

